Juneau School District - Indian Studies Program

15 days ago

We Serve

Nearly 1 in 4 students within our district is Alaska Native or American Indian

We Educate

Our Cultural Specialists bring cultural-relevancy into the classrooms

We Advocate

Our goal is to advocate for our children in the Juneau School District

ABOUT THE INDIAN STUDIES PROGRAM 

This program is designed to address the unique education & culturally related academic needs of American Indian and Alaska Native students (including PK), so that these students can achieve to the same challenging state performance standards expected of all students.

The program is the Department's principal vehicle for addressing the particular needs of Indian children. The Indian Education Formula Grant provides funding to support local/educational agencies in their efforts to reform elementary and secondary school programs that serve Indian students.

The programs funding is based on challenging State content standards & student performance used for all students & is designed to assist Indian students to meet those standards. 


Our project objectives for the Indian Studies Title VI grant include:

  1. Increase Parent Participation
  2. Increase School Readiness
  3. Increase Knowledge of Cultural Identity and Awareness
  4. Increase Academic Achievement
  5. Increase Graduation Rate
  6. Increase College Enrollment
  7. Increase School Attendance Rate
  8. Increase Native American / Alaska Native Language Instruction Programs
  9. Decrease School Dropout Rate
  10. Enhance Problem Solving and Cognitive Skills Development and Directly Support Attainment of State Standards



Essential Duties and Responsibilities of a Cultural Specialist:

Maintain attendance, discipline, and academic progress data; present and instruct cultural information in collaboration with classroom teachers; implement extracurricular activities according to parameters of grant; assist with Indian Education after school activities and cultural presentations; provide instructional resource materials requested by teachers; assist in planning and production of staff development; advocate for ISP among students, parents, administration, and the community; maintain a summary of students served and activities on monthly, quarterly, and annual basis; maintain enrollment forms; perform related duties as required. 

Equity

15 days ago


Juneau School District Equity Standards

“Every student deserves the opportunity to learn in a world-class educational setting that is respectful and free from bias. The Board champions the dignity and worth of all people and recognizes that identification and removal of systemic barriers are essential to achieving equity in education.”—JSD Equity Policy 1265

Juneau School District Equity

Juneau School District Strategic Plan 2021-2025

MISSION: In Juneau, we partner to provide each student with meaningful, relevant, and rigorous learning experiences in order to graduate diverse, engaged citizens ready for a changing world.

Juneau School District Strategic Plan
Staff Contacts

District Office

Katherine Pittman, Native Student Success Coordinator katherine.pittman@juneauschools.org


David Doyle, Administrative Assistant david.doyle@juneauschools.org


Auke Bay Elementary School Gabbi George-Frank Cultural Specialist/Paraeducator gabrielle.frank@juneauschools.org


Dzantik'i Heeni Middle School Demetrius Johnson Cultural Specialist/Paraeducator demetrius.johnson@juneauschools.org


Floyd Dryden Middle School Andra Martin Tlingit Language Teacher andra.martin@juneauschools.org


Harborview Elementary Kaytlynne Lewis Cultural Specialist/Paraeducator kaytlynne.lewis@juneauschools.org


Juneau-Douglas High School: Yadaa.at Kalé Thunder Mountain High School Yaakoosgé Daakahídi High School Erin Seagren Cultural Specialist/Paraeducator erin.seagren@juneauschools.org


Kax̱digoowu Héen Elementary School Louise Kadake Cultural Specialist/Paraeducator louise.kadake@juneauschools.org


Mendenhall River Elementary Lorena Gray Cultural Specialist/Paraeducator lorena.gray@juneauschools.org


Sayéik: Gastineau Community School Christian Nault Cultural Specialist/Paraeducator <christian.nault@juneauschools.org@juneauschools.org>


Sít Eetí Shaanáx̱ - Glacier Valley Elementary School Rose Willard Tlingit Language Teacher rose.willard@juneauschools.org