The National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) is a national assessment of a representative sampling of America's students in grades 4 and 8 conducted by the National Center for Education Statistics. Results are only given at the state-level; no school or student results are provided.

NAEP is administered by a federally contracted assessment team that receives extensive training to ensure consistent administration across the nation.

The 2017 administration of NAEP will be administered for the first time as a digitally based assessment. 

The Juneau School District administers the assessment every two years. The following schools will be administering the NAEP during the 2016-2017 school year:

Auke Bay Elementary; Dzantik'i Heeni Middle School, Floyd Dryden Middle School, Gastineau Elementary, Glacier Valley Elementary, Harborview Elementary, Juneau Community Charter School, Mendenhall River Community School, Montessori Borealis Alternative School, and Riverbend Elementary.

Additional information regarding the NAEP can be found on the  Alaska Department of Education and Early Development website: