Juneau Fast Break Basketball Camp delivers professional instruction to youth of our region

Juneau-Douglas High School head coach and camp director, Robert Casperson, would like to congratulate the campers on two phenomenal weeks. He was impressed with the excitement, intensity, and improvement in all the players that attended the Juneau Fast Break Basketball Camp.

Championship Friday and All-Star Saturday created an electric atmosphere. In the College championship the Duke Blue Devils emerged victorious over the Seattle University Red Hawks.  In the NBA championship, the San Antonio Spurs defeated the Chicago Bulls for the title. Saturday was capped off with all-star games and the presentation of trophies.

The Juneau Fast Break Basketball Camp also emphasizes the importance of making healthy life choices.  Time was included during the week for special presenters to address multiple topics.  Professional basketball player, Talisa Rhea, discussed goal setting with the campers. NCAA Division I football player, Faifo Levale, spoke about the academic requirements necessary to be eligible for college athletics.  Jon Malacas of the Johnson Youth Center shared with the campers the realities of making poor choices, including prison food, shackles, and jail cells.  Mark Calvert from the AWARE Shelter, Alaska Men Chose Respect, and Coaching Boys into Men presented on positive relationships.

The Juneau Fast Break Basketball Camp will proudly return in June of 2014.

College Division Special Awards:

Free Throw Champion: Caitlin Pusich

Best Passer: Erica Hurtte

Best Defense: Bryson Echiverri

Station Master: Kenzie Campbell

Most Hustle: Malia Miller

Most Improved: Joel Sleppy

Best Rebounder: Caitlin Pusich

Most Valuable Player: Josh McAndrews

All-Stars: Erica Hurtte, Caitlin Pusich, Owen Mendoza, Bryson Echiverri, Luke Mallinger, Derek Boord, Josh McAndrews, Kenzie Campbell, Marlis Boord, and Zoey Kriegmont.

NBA Division Special Awards:

Free Throw Champion: Treyson Ramos

Best Passer: Kaleb Tompkins

Best Defense: Treyson Ramos

Station Master: Cristina Arehart

Most Hustle: Justin Miller

Most Improved: Kordell Searles

Best Rebounder: Jesse Lantiegne

Most Valuable Player: Guy Bean

All-Stars: Jesse Lantiegne, Treyson Ramos, Rahul Chhabria, Jacob Galloway, Gunnar Schultz, Moa Maka, Kaleb Tompkins, Manase Maake, Guy Bean, Cristina Arehart, John Yadao, and Kaitlin Fagerstrom.

The Juneau Fast Break Basketball Camp operates in proud partnership with the following  sponsors and businesses: The Fast Break Club, Commercial Signs & Printing, Oliver’s Trophies and Engraving, McDonald’s, KINY Radio, Kimmel Athletic Supply, Community Schools and RALLY.